Altman earns national coach of the year honors

ATLANTA -- University of Oregon head coach Dana Altman was the recipient of the 2013 Jim Phelan Award during Saturday's awards banquet at the Final Four, recognizing the Ducks' third-year man as national coach of the year.

Altman guided the Ducks to a 28-9 overall mark and the program's first trip to the Sweet 16 since 2007, racking up the the fourth-most wins in a single season in UO history in the process. Picked to finish seventh in the preseason Pac-12 Media Poll, Oregon tied for second place in the final regular season standings and won the conference tournament, earning the Pac-12's automatic bid to the NCAA tourney.

The first Oregon head coach to post three straight 20-win seasons since the legendary Howard Hobson led the "Tall Firs" to four straight campaigns from 1935-39, Altman's 2012-13 team became just the sixth UO squad to reach an NCAA Regional Semifinal.

The 2013 Pac-12 Coach of the Year, Altman was also a finalist for the 2013 John McLendon National Coach of the Year Award.