Ducks fall to Utah, but will host NCAA regional

SALT LAKE CITY - Utah took the lead with four runs in the fifth inning and never gave it back handing a short-handed No. 8 Oregon team a 10-3 loss at Spring Mobile Ballpark on Sunday.

The Ducks (45-14, 22-8 Pac-12) played without normal starters Ryon Healy, Brett Thomas and Scott Heineman.

Oregon jumped out to an early 1-0 lead in the first when J.J. Altobelli scored on the 12th error of the three game series by Utah. Altobelli led off the game with a walk, moved to second on a sacrifice bunt by Aaron Payne and moved to third on a Mitchell Tolman ground out before scoring.

Utah (21-31, 6-24 Pac-12) tied the game with a run in the bottom of the fourth, but the Ducks answered with two runs in the top of the fifth to take a 3-1 lead. After Desmond Santos walked to lead off the inning and Altobelli doubled to put runners on second and third, Mitchell Tolman drove in a run with a sacrifice fly. Tyler Baumgartner added a RBI single scoring Altobelli for a two-run lead.

The Utes took their first lead of the series with four runs on four hits and a crucial throwing error by Oregon starter Jake Reed. Utah added a run in the sixth, three in the seventh and another in the eighth to push the lead to 10-3.

Reed (6-5) took the loss for the Ducks, while Tanner Banks (2-5) got the win.

Oregon did get some good news later in the day. The Ducks will host an NCAA regional tournament.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records (through May 26) are as follows:

Baton Rouge, Louisiana - LSU (52-9)
Blacksburg, Virginia - Virginia Tech (38-20)
Bloomington, Indiana - Indiana (43-14)
Chapel Hill, North Carolina - North Carolina (52-8)
Charlottesville, Virginia - Virginia (47-10)
Corvallis, Oregon - Oregon State (45-10)
Columbia, South Carolina - South Carolina (39-18)
Eugene, Oregon - Oregon (45-14)
Fullerton, California - Cal State Fullerton (48-8)
Los Angeles, California - *UCLA (38-17)
Louisville, Kentucky - Louisville (46-10)
Manhattan, Kansas - Kansas St. (41-17)
Nashville, Tennessee - Vanderbilt (51-9)
Raleigh, North Carolina - North Carolina State (44-14)
Starkville, Mississippi - Mississippi State (43-17)
Tallahassee, Florida - Florida State (44-15)
*Teams that still playing today (Sunday, May 26)

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team championship field.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 31 to Monday, June 3.

Two institutions are hosting for the 20th time or more as Florida State leads the list of schools with 30 and LSU with 21. South Carolina is hosting for the 15th time. Mississippi St. (12th) and Cal State Fullerton (11th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

North Carolina is hosting for the seventh time, while Virginia is hosting a regional for the sixth time and UCLA is hosting for the fifth time. North Carolina State and Oregon State are hosting for the fourth time, while Louisville and Vanderbilt for the third time and Oregon for the second. Rounding out the list and hosting for the first time are Indiana, Kansas St., and Virginia Tech.

Eight institutions (Florida State, LSU, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Oregon, South Carolina, UCLA and Virginia) also hosted in 2012.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional
pairings and site assignments will be announced at Noon (ET), Monday, May 27. The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 3 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

There are 30 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 67th Men's College World Series
begins play Saturday, June 15, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.