Police dispatchers from Lane County, Coos Bay PD, Florence PD & OSU graduate

(File image/SBG)

SALEM, Ore. -- The Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) has announced the graduation of its 108th Basic Telecommunications Class.

The two-week course includes emergency call handling techniques, stress management, civil liability, ethics, criminal law, overview of fire-rescue and law enforcement operations, and a number of other topics.

Upon completion of the course, students will return to their employing agency to continue training for a number of months with a field training officer.

The 9-1-1 training program began in 1993 when the Oregon Legislative Assembly enacted legislation which requires that individuals who receive emergency calls for assistance from the public meet professional standards for training and certification. There are approximately 950 men and women across the state who work in this profession in city, county, tribal, regional, and state public safety communications centers.

Basic Telecommunications #BT108 Graduation will be held at 11 a.m. on Friday, March 9, at the Oregon Public Safety Academy, 4190 Aumsville Hwy SE in Salem.

The guest speaker is 9-1-1 Manager Joe Davitt of Wasco County Communications.

DPSST invites the public to attend the ceremony and congratulate the class on their successful completion of basic training. A reception immediately follows.

"The graduating students appreciate the family, friends and guests who make graduation an appropriate conclusion to their basic training at the Oregon Public Safety Academy," school officials said.

Members of Basic Telecommunications Class #108:

Dispatcher Ashly Amason - Bureau of Emergency Communications

Corrections Officer Sara Aryanfard - Warm Springs Police Department

Dispatcher Miranda Ball - Bureau of Emergency Communications

Dispatcher Antonietta Bartley - Willamette Valley Communications Center

Dispatcher Kasandra Bartol - Lake Oswego Police Department

Dispatcher Jennifer Bostwick - Baker County Sheriff's Office

Dispatcher Benjamin Bowdoin - Grants Pass Dept of Public Safety

Dispatcher Nicole Buescher - Lane County Sheriff's Office

Dispatcher Bethany Condit - Clackamas County Communications

Dispatcher Chelssea Eyler - Bureau of Emergency Communications

Dispatcher Andrea Fox - Hood River County Sheriff's Office

Dispatcher Michelle Goris - Deschutes County 9-1-1

Dispatcher Kaylie Graves - LaGrande Police Department

Dispatcher Nicole Harrington - W.C.C.C.A.

Dispatcher Colby Kline - Bureau of Emergency Communications

Telecommunicator Jessica Olson - Oregon State University DPS

Dispatcher Ashley Perkins - Deschutes County 9-1-1

Dispatcher Cassandra Ramsey - Florence Police Department

Dispatcher Kaitlynn Rice - Coos Bay Police Department

Telecommunicator Arielle Romo - Oregon State University DPS

Dispatcher Aubrey Rowland - Wasco County Sheriff's Office

Dispatcher Victoria Scholes - Clackamas County Communications

Dispatcher Kyle Stephens - Bureau of Emergency Communications

Dispatcher Nakita Thomas - Bureau of Emergency Communications

Dispatcher Rebecca Zaloznik - Bureau of Emergency Communications

More about the program from DPSST:

DPSST operates the Oregon Public Safety Academy, which spans more than 235 acres in Salem. The Academy is nationally recognized for its innovative training programs and active stakeholder involvement. Eriks Gabliks serves as the Director, and Sheriff Jason Myers of the Marion County Sheriff's Office serves as the Chair of the Board. The department implements minimum standards established by the Board for the training and certification of more than 40,000 city, tribal, county and state law enforcement officers, corrections officers, parole and probation officers, fire service personnel, telecommunicators, emergency medical dispatchers and private security providers.
DPSST provides training to more than 25,000 students each year throughout Oregon and at the Oregon Public Safety Academy in Salem, certifies qualified officers at various levels from basic through executive; certifies qualified instructors; and reviews and accredits training programs throughout the state based on standards established by the Board.
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off